My Blueberry Nights (2007)

This Christmas I wished for my Exchange Gift Angel to download and burn me these movies I don’t have time and disk space to torrent. She fulfilled my wish (Thank you!), and now I have 20 movies to watch.

So far I’ve watched Mirror Mirror (Tarsem Singh), No Country For Old Men (Coen Brothers), Moonrise Kingdom (Wes Anderson), and Fargo (Coen Brothers). And I’ve given up on My Blueberry Nights (Wong Kar Wai) and The Green Hornet (Michel Gondry).

Why I gave up on My Blueberry Nights? I found it slow and dragging.
Perhaps Wong Kar Wai was just being faithful to his style, but unlike his other films, the slow, steady treatment does not suit this story. Or the story does not deserve that glamorous of a cinematography, when in the first place it’s lacking in emotional depth.

my_blueberry_nights

Lizzie’s motivation feels too artificial and contrived. It lacked a backstory that should have helped the audience understand and empathize about her condition. Thus I did not understand all the fuss about her soul searching via a road trip.

Unfortunately for me the film did not possess the charm and genuineness of his other films. It’s just not my cup of tea?

Leave a Reply

